Category Logo


May 13, 2013

May 13, 2013

For more information,
Contact: Amanda Shell
Moxley Carmichael
(865) 255-0661


Knoxville Mayor Madeline Rogero has appointed Dan Murphy and John Turner to the Board of Commissioners at Knoxville’s Community Development Corporation (KCDC).

“We were very excited to welcome Dan and John to our board,” said Alvin Nance, executive director and CEO of KCDC. “Both board members have a strong background in education, leadership and promoting diversity, and I’m confident these skills will serve our organization and our residents well.”

Dan Murphy

Dan Murphy

Both commissioners are veteran educators at the higher education level. Murphy is a professor of accounting at the University of Tennessee. From 2003 to 2012, he served the head of the department of accounting at the university. A certified public accountant, he holds a doctorate degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Murphy has served on boards of directors at many professional and community organizations and was elected chairman of the Knox County Board of Education. He served as Vice President of the Board of Directors for the American Taxation Association and recently completed a term as president of the American Accounting Association’s Accounting Programs Leadership Group.

Turner retired from the Tennessee Valley Authority in 2002 as senior vice president of education, training and diversity. He also has a background in education serving as president of Knoxville College from 1990 to 1994. Turner has a master’s degree in higher education from Indiana University and completed postdoctoral work at Harvard University.

He current serves on the board of directors for Project GRAD, and has served on the boards for numerous other local organizations, including the Knoxville Chamber Partnership, The Webb School of Knoxville, United Way of Knoxville, East Tennessee Historical Society and Maryville College President’s Associates. Turner has been honored as Volunteer of the Year with Knoxville Area Urban League and was a member of the Leadership Knoxville Class of 1991.

John Turner

John Turner

Murphy and Turner’s terms began in April. Murphy will serve a five-year term. Turner was elected to finish the term of outgoing board member Montina Jones.

“Our new board members are highly-qualified, and we look forward to putting their skills, talents and insights towards continuing to improve public housing service to Knoxville and Knox County,” said Nance.

KCDC’s Board of Commissioners oversees programs provided by the agency including affordable public housing administration, redevelopment and rental assistance programs. Other members of the board are Chairman Culver Schmid, a shareholder with Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC; Vice Chairman David Hutchins, architect and president of Hutchins Associates PC.; Ellen Adcock, community volunteer and former director of the City of Knoxville Department of Administration; Lisa Wagoner, supervisor of health services for Knox County Schools; and resident commissioner Phyllis Patrick, administrative assistant at Evergreen Presbyterian Ministries, Inc.

KCDC is the housing authority and redevelopment agency for Knoxville. Since 1936, KCDC has been dedicated to enhancing the quality of life for the citizens of Knoxville. For more information, visit